Kulkarni to be feted at Bangalore Nano 2012

Over 160 international and Indian companies will be participating in Bangalore Nano 2012, the fifth annual conference and exposition on nanotechnology to be held on December 6 and 7. Last year, there were about 140 exhibitors.

The conference will confer the national nanotechnology award on G.U. Kulkarni, DST Unit on Nanoscience, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, said its organisers here on Thursday.

C.N.R. Rao, Honorary President of the JNCASR and Linus Pauling Research Professor, said the two-day event would focus on recent developments in nanotechnology and its applications in advanced materials, aerospace and defence, electronics and NEMS, energy, environment, water management and solutions, food, agriculture, healthcare and medicine. A Rs. 80-crore nanotechnology institute, sponsored by the Centre and the State governments, has been proposed on Tumkur Road near here.

The event is the fifth annual edition being organised by the Department of Information Technology, Biotechnology, Science and Technology and the Vision Group on Nanotechnology led by Prof. Rao.

Besides covering nano fabrication, nano medicine, biotechnology, nano materials and devices, the conference will discuss issues related to research, technology development, skills, risks, regulation, investment and collaborations between academia, research and industry.

Among those participating in the event are IndianOil Corporation, BHEL, Visakhapatnam Steel Plant, GE Global Research, Sun Group, ITC Ltd., Dabur Research Foundation, HLL Lifecare, IBM India, Reliance Industries, UK Trade & Investment and Applied Materials. Ten countries will showcase their technology and products at the trade show. Over 450 students are expected to take part in the ‘Nano for the young’, targeted at students of engineering, medical and biotechnology institutes in Bangalore. The Malhotra Weikfield Foundation has offered scholarships and awards to six young nanotech researchers, chosen by an expert committee.

Please Wait while comments are loading...
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor
Comments to: web.thehindu@thehindu.co.in
Copyright ©2015, The Hindu